Production Project Game Design Session 5

Pigeon” by zigazou76 is licensed under CC BY 2.0.

SUMMARY

Role

Sound Designer

Intention (SMART Goal)

By May 10, as a Sound Designer, I will have evidence of making a full soundtrack for every scene in the game, as well as sound effects for every action the player can do by following this tutorial

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

Jack Foley and the art of Sound (Not a video but a good article)

Notes:

Foley artists create sounds from random equipment.

When Done well Foley is undetectable

Have to adopt the personalities of characters

Was Created out of Necessity

You can use your voice, jangling keys, or Hot water bottles on a floor

Foley still used to this day

Range from skin touching to big explosions

Training Source(s)

Notes

First set up

Button

Button Info Script

Shop Manager/Array

Change script to update

Event System

Project Timeline

Monday, March 27th: all music

Friday, March 31: Settings and Shop done

Friday, April 14th: More Sound effects (buttons and such) and the main menu screen that works.

Evidence of Team Planning and Decisions

PRODUCTION – ACTION

The (FILM, SOUND, or GAME Creation)

Itch

This is the most recent version of our game, it also includes a credit page with what everyone on the team did

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem-Solving)

There were a lot of bugs revolving around the UI which is something I had never done. So I had to figure out what was wrong and used problem-solving and Critical Thinking.

Ways of Working (Communication & Collaboration)

Aiden and I communicated a lot about where we were in the game. Hunter and I also communicated what I needed art-wise regarding the menu and UI.

Tools for Working (Info & Media Literacy)

I learned how to use UI for Unity which is something I had never done before. I am now fairly proficient in it and can make a UI/Menu system without a Tutorial

Ways of Living in the World (Life & Career)

I used Unity and GarageBand and tried new things for both. And got better at both. Both programs are professional-level programs or at least good practice for more professional programs. In GarageBand, I experimented with Synthesizers.

Reactions to the Final Version

“Soundtrack was good, there but not overbearing” – Hunter

“Menu System was good” – Hunter

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

Well, we don’t really have a game, but I’m proud of the UI that I made, I wish to work on it later so that we can actually get the auto battler done.

Grammar and Spelling

Grammarly

Editor

Hunter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *