May 8th – May 12th Weekly Work Log Game Design

Session Number:5
Week Number:6
Total Estimated Hours Contributed this Week: 5
What is/was your overall goal for this week? My goal is to if possible make the game in a playable state, but if not, then just to make what we have as polished as possible

Work Tasks 

Date Task Description Time Spent Was / Were your choices and work Best Practices? Why? 
5/8I made the weekly work log for Game Design and School of Rock. I tried working on a bug that made it so some buttons didn’t make sounds, while others did. But even after searching about the problem I could not figure out what the problem was. I also through much research found out why our game was 18+ in the first place and fixed it.1 hr This was a best practice because it required problem-solving, even if I didn’t end up finding the issue
5/9 I fixed some volume issues and tried to make the game as polished as I could sound design-wise. So I fixed sound issues and mixing issues regarding the music and sound effects1 hr This was a best practice because I learned more about how Unity handles sound and mixing, and how to use it to do what I need
 5/10 We shared our games and recorded them for the competition 1 hr This was a best practice because presenting is a key skill in the world of work. And is something I will have to do many times
 5/11We looked at the other teams games, and then I worked on this blog post and the post-production blog post. 1 hr This is a best practice because I was on task the entire time, and got everything done by the end of the class period.
 5/12 Since there was nothing else I needed to do for my blog post and nothing that I can do for the game (we are not sure if we wanna continue it or not) I decided to work on making music possibly for a future game, or maybe just for the making of music in general. I experimented with synthesizers and mixing music, to try to get a perfect mix out of a very small amount of instruments and build upon that 1 hr This is a best practice because I learned more about GarageBand and synthesizers in general.

May 8th – May 12th Weekly Work Log School of Rock

Session Number:5
Week Number:6
Total Estimated Hours Contributed this Week: 5
What is/was your overall goal for this week? My goal was to record what we have of the Pirate song because last week we ended up being tasked with working on the in-ear monitors

Work Tasks 

Date Task Description Time Spent Was / Were your choices and work Best Practices? Why? 
5/8So Connor decided to put his 7-string guitar into the shop. Which is something that is needed to record the song. So we are now gonna record a different song, that we have been working on simultaneously. This song is called Fast song, so we practiced through the song so we could get to the point where we could record1 hr This is a best practice because we had to make a decision as a group and that required communication to figure out how we were going to go through with this.
5/9 We practiced through Fast song. (with a warmup of Halo On Fire as always) We made sure that we had the structure of Fast song, and that we would be ready to record it tomorrow.1 hr This is a best practice because we needed to be efficient and communicate and collaborate well to make sure this song is going to be ready to be recorded in such a short amount of time
 5/10 During Coug Time we recorded the guitar and bass part for Fast Song. But then Simon had to get his blood drawn. So we couldn’t record drums, So Connor Gryffn and I instead decided to learn how to Play Pneuma by Tool 1 hr This was a best practice since we spent time out of class to work on what needed to be done. And then we used problem-solving to figure out how Pneuma by Tool even went since it switches time signatures every few minutes.
 5/11 We recorded the drums and rerecorded some bass and Geetar. Since both Connor and myself were off time on many occasions 1 hr This was a best practice because we were communicating what we needed and what Griffin needed of us so that he can mix
 5/12 We worked on all of the blog posts due today. We also listened to the mix that Griffin had magically done overnight. And we talked about what we liked and didn’t like 1 hr This is a best practice because we had to communicate what we liked and didn’t like about the mix and discussed where we wanted to go with this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *