School of Rock – Week 8 – Melody

“LEGO Lord Of The Rings Balrog” by TooMuchDew is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

SUMMARY

  • first what I did was did watched the weekly video in class then on Sunday (because of reasons) I did the rest of the assignments for the blog.

PRACTICE ROOM (TUTORIALS)

  • anchor finger practice

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

  • All music is more simiar than it seems under the surface
    • all music is based on pentatonic
    • different parts of the world have different scales
    • as music became more sophisticated they had bigger intervals between notes
    • all popular music in the last 100 years is diatonic
    • many songs change the same melody over a song
    • even popular music now a days use folk music.

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

  • I learned how to set up melodies with hookpad and all the keyboard shortcuts as well as how to put twinkle twinkle little star into hookpad in 20 seconds

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

  • I find it interesting that she is talking about people asking her if she is afraid that her books will never succeed. although I am only 14 I have played guitar for 2 1/2 years and no one has asked if I was afraid if I would ever become a star. Because I am pretty stubborn about being a guitarist even if I play in bars every saturday.

STUDIO (SONGWRITING)

  • theme: Long more flowing melodic idea
    • motive: a short rythmic idea
    • period: 8 measure melody
    • phrase: 4 measure of a melody
    • phrase 1: antecedent phrase
    • phrase 2: consequent phrase
    • step: movement using half or whole steps
    • leaps: intervals larger than a whole step
    • conjunct motion: melody mostly out of steps
    • disjunct motion: melody mostly out of leaps
    • repetition: repeated material used as a bridge between the two phrases of a period
    • contrast: two phrases that contain contrasting material
    • variation: the two phrases have to of the same material and some different
    • tonic: first note in a scale
    • supertonic: the second note in a scale
    • Mediant: third note in a scale
    • subdominat: fourth note in sclae
    • Dominant: fifth note in a scale
    • Submediant: 6th note in a scalre
    • leading tone: 7th note in a scale

Melody Resources

Mr. Le Duc’s Key of C Major Notes and Chords Chart (PDF)

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

  • What I enjoyed most was the hook theory thing because using hook theory sound like a lot of fun. One thing that I solved was I was having problems with the justin guitar thing. I was kinda confusing but then I just had to click a button and it fixed itself

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *